January 16, 2008

Lieutenant Governor’s New Community Spirit Award Attracts 19 Nominations

HALIFAX, NS – Nineteen communities from 13 of Nova Scotia’s 18 counties have been nominated for the newly launched Lieutenant Governor’s Community Spirit Award.  They range from urban subdivisions to mid-sized towns to rural villages dotted around the province.  They share a common sense of pride in the strength and resilience of their own community and are keen to share their stories with the province. 
Created in 2007, the Lieutenant Governor’s Community Spirit Award will recognize and honour outstanding communities that work, play, think, problem-solve and celebrate together.  Based on ‘story sharing’, people have nominated their communities by submitting stories, in writing and video, about how their community makes Nova Scotia a better place.  The award itself profiles and celebrates communities who best reflect award criteria describing attributes of community strength.     
"I am delighted with the response that has come from communities across the province," said Lieutenant Governor, the Honourable Mayann E. Francis. "It shows the tremendous pride that exists throughout Nova Scotia.  Vibrant neighbourhoods are a legacy that will benefit Nova Scotia for years to come.”
Her Honour announced her intention to create this award during her installation speech in September 2006.  The award was launched in Sydney in September 2007 and this list of 19 communities represents the first response.  
At the end of January, the Awards Selection Committee will choose up to four communities to be honoured during 2008 with individual community based celebrations.  The Selection Committee is expected to announce the honoured communities in February with celebrations taking place during the spring and summer months.
All nominations are posted in complete form at www.communityspiritaward.ca.

The list of nominations:

Annapolis Royal – Annapolis County
Bridgewater – Lunenburg County
Clare – Digby County
Enfield – Halifax County
Westmount – Halifax County
Portland Estates and Hills  – Halifax County
Port Hood – Inverness County
Port Medway – Queens County
Port Morien – Cape Breton County
Prospect – Halifax County
St Andrew's – Antigonish County
Shearwater – Halifax County
Shelburne – Shelburne County
South Mountain Arm of Gold – Richmond County
Tatamagouche – Colchester County
Upper Hammonds Plains – Halifax County
Whitney Pier – Cape Breton County
Windsor – Hants County
Wolfville – Kings County

This Award is made possible through Host Sponsor United Way of Halifax Region, Nova Scotia Power Inc. and Transcontinental Media Inc.